What is the 8 Aboriginal ways of learning?

What is the 8 Aboriginal ways of learning?

This Aboriginal pedagogy framework is expressed as eight interconnected pedagogies involving narrative-driven learning, visualised learning processes, hands-on/reflective techniques, use of symbols/metaphors, land-based learning, indirect/synergistic logic, modelled/scaffolded genre mastery, and connectedness to …

How do you reference Yunkaporta 8 ways?

Cite this. Yunkaporta, Tyson. / 8 ways Aboriginal Pedagogy from Western NSW. 8 ways Aboriginal Pedagogy from Western NSW. / Yunkaporta, Tyson.

Who developed the 8 ways of learning?

The eight ways came from Indigenous research, which is research done by and for Aboriginal people within Aboriginal communities, drawing on knowledge and protocol from communities, Elders, land, language, ancestors and spirit. These things formed the methodology – the ways and rules for working in research.

What are the indigenous ways of learning?

Indigenous pedagogies connect learning to a specific place, and thus knowledge is situated in relationship to a location, experience, and group of people. For curriculum developers, this means creating opportunities to learn about the local place and to learn in connection to the local place.

Why are the 8 ways of learning important?

The 8 Ways framework allows educators to explore Aboriginal ways of learning, focusing on teaching through culture. Our focus is still based on curriculum content; however, by learning through these Aboriginal perspectives, we are able to explore the importance of processes as well as content.

What is possum skin pedagogy?

In Victoria today, Aboriginal babies and young children are ‘Welcomed onto Country’ in ceremonies lead by Elders wearing a possum skin cloak who gift a possum skin to babies to begin their own cloak. Children may wear possum skins themselves at graduation ceremonies in Aboriginal early childhood spaces.

Why is the 8 ways of learning important?

How do Aboriginal children learn best?

In Aboriginal culture knowledge was passed on through repetitive story-telling. If possible, Aboriginal children should be taught in their first language. “Learning to read and write requires the brain to be neurologically developmentally primed,” explains speech pathologist Mary-Ruth Mendel.

What are the 7 Aboriginal teachings?

The Seven Teachings

  • Love. Love is the gift from the Eagle.
  • Respect. Respect is the gift from the Buffalo.
  • Courage. The Bear carries courage.
  • Honesty. Honesty is carried by the Sabe (Sasquatch).
  • Wisdom. The Beaver carries wisdom.
  • Humility. The Wolf carries humility.
  • Truth. The Turtle carries truth.

What are the 7 principles of learning?

The 7 Principles of learning with an e-learning lens

  • Learners at the centre. Create an environment that recognises learners as its core participants.
  • Social nature of learning.
  • Emotions are integral to learning.
  • Recognise individual differences.
  • Stretch all students.
  • Assessment for learning.
  • Build horizontal connections.

What is quality teaching framework?

The Quality Teaching Framework is incorporated in all teaching and learning programs to ensure that quality education is being provided throughout the school and as a means of providing staff with a platform for critical reflection and analysis of current teaching practice, and used to guide planning of classroom and …

Who published the possum skin pedagogy?

the Department of Education and Training Victoria
The pedagogical practice of reflection, underpinned by exploration, narration and conversation was at the center of these two days of training. Published by the Department of Education and Training Victoria, 2016.