Which states are located in the south of India?

Which states are located in the south of India?

South India is a region consisting of the southern part of India, which encompasses the Indian states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Telangana, as well as the union territories of Lakshadweep and Puducherry, comprising 19.31% of India’s area (635,780 km2 or 245,480 sq mi) and 20% of India’s …

How many states are in South India map?

South India comprises of the states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and the union territories of Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Puducherry.

Which state is in southernmost part of India map?

Indira Point
Country India
State Andaman and Nicobar Islands
District Nicobar
Tehsil Great Nicobar

Where is southern India on the map?

India, country that occupies the greater part of South Asia. Its capital is New Delhi, built in the 20th century just south of the historic hub of Old Delhi to serve as India’s administrative centre.

Is Maharashtra north or south?

Maharashtra is a southern state geographically, and it is a northern state culturally. Its language, Marathi, is a daughter language of Sanskrit, while ethnically, its population is mainly of Dravidian origin.

Is Goa north or South India?

Goa (/ˈɡoʊə/ ( listen)) is a state on the southwestern coast of India within the Konkan region, geographically separated from the Deccan highlands by the Western Ghats.

Which is the southernmost city in India?

Kanyakumari (US: /kənˈjʌkʊmɑːriː/); lit. “The Virgin Princess” (also known as Cape Comorin) is a town in Kanyakumari District in the state of Tamil Nadu in India. It is the southern tip of Indian subcontinent. The southernmost town in mainland India, it is sometimes referred to as ‘The Land’s End’.

Which is the most southern state of India?

Cape Comorin, rocky headland on the Indian Ocean in Tamil Nadu state, southeastern India, forming the southernmost point of the subcontinent.

Where is India located north or south?

India is situated north of the equator between 8°4′ north (the mainland) to 37°6′ north latitude and 68°7′ east to 97°25′ east longitude.

How many states are in India?

28 states
The President is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union. In the states, the Governor, as the representative of the President, is the head of Executive. The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country.

Is Goa north or south India?

Is Gujarat north or south India?

Gujarat is the western most state of India. It is bounded by the Arabian sea in the west, shares its borders with Madhya pradesh in the east, by Rajasthan in the north and northeast and by maharashtra in the south and south east.

What are the 10 largest cities in India?

Delhi. Delhi is the largest city in India.

  • Bengaluru. The “Silicon Valley of India” is the second-largest city in India.
  • Visakhapatnam. The port city of Visakhapatnam is the third-largest city in India.
  • Hyderabad. Coming at number four on this list is the capital of the newly formed Telangana state.
  • Lucknow.
  • Indore.
  • Ahmedabad.
  • Surat.
  • Jaipur.
  • Bhopal.
  • What cities are in southern India?

    Idli,a spongy steamed cake made of lentils and rice; normally savoury,not sweet.

  • Dosa,a thin,crispy pancake again made of lentils and rice.
  • Sevai,rice noodles,thin as vermicelli.
  • Uttapam,fried pancake made from a lentil and rice batter,with onions and other vegetables mixed in.
  • Vada,fried Indian donut,but savoury and spiced.
  • What are the tourist places in South India?

    Rock beach – Scenic beach best in evening

  • Pondicherry Museum – Museum with ancient bronze sculpture
  • Old Light House – Local Icon&19 th Century lighthouse
  • Bharathidarshan Museum – for the residence of a literary figure
  • Puducherry Science Centre&Planetarium – Indoor Outdoor exhibits
  • How many states are in South India?

    – Tamil Nadu – Andhra Pradesh – Karnataka – Kerala – Telangana