Who won the French presidential election in 2017?

Who won the French presidential election in 2017?

The 2017 French presidential election was held on 23 April and 7 May 2017. As no candidate won a majority in the first round, a runoff was held between the top two candidates, Emmanuel Macron of En Marche! (EM) and Marine Le Pen of the National Front (FN), which Macron won by a decisive margin.

Who won the French presidential election in 1848?

It elected the first and only president of the Second Republic. The election was held on 10 December 1848 and led to the surprise victory of Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte with 74% of the popular vote. This was the only direct presidential election until the 1965 French presidential election.

Who is likely to be the next French president?

2022 French presidential election

Nominee Emmanuel Macron Marine Le Pen
Popular vote 18,768,639 13,288,686
Percentage 58.6% 41.4%

How is French president elected?

The candidate with the absolute majority of votes cast is elected. Blank or spoilt votes are not taken into account. The President is elected following the announcement of the results by the Constitutional Council within 10 days. The five-year term is renewable once.

Who did Macron succeed?

Emmanuel Macron
President François Hollande
Preceded by Jean Castex
Succeeded by Laurence Boone
Additional positions

Who won the election of 1852?

The 1852 United States presidential election was the 17th quadrennial presidential election, held on Tuesday, November 2, 1852. Democrat Franklin Pierce, a former senator from New Hampshire, defeated Whig nominee General Winfield Scott.

Who was first president of France?

President of the Republic

Name (Birth–Death)
1 Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte (1808–1873)

How many times can a French president be elected?

Term limits Following a further change, the constitutional law of 2008 on the modernisation of the institutions of the Fifth Republic, a president cannot serve more than two consecutive terms.

How long is a French president term?

President of France

President of the French Republic
Appointer Popular vote
Term length Five years, renewable once consecutively
Constituting instrument Fifth Republic Constitution
Inaugural holder Louis-Napoleon Bonaparte

How many times can you run for president in France?

There were no presidential term limits in the French Third Republic or the French Fourth Republic. The President of France did not have term limits in the current French Fifth Republic until the Constitution of France was amended in 2008, limiting the president to two consecutive terms.

Who is the real President of France?

President of France

President of the French Republic
Incumbent Emmanuel Macron since 14 May 2017
Executive branch of the French Government
Style Mr President (informal) His Excellency (diplomatic)
Status Head of state Head of Executive

Who is the current President of France?

The incumbent President of France is Emmanuel Macron of La République En Marche! (LREM), who won the 2017 election and whose term lasts until 13 May 2022. The election will be held just before the 2022 legislative election .

How long is the term for the French president?

Under Article 7 of the Constitution of France, the President of the Republic is elected to a five-year term in a two-round election. If no candidate secures an absolute majority of votes in the first round, a second round is held two weeks later between the two candidates who received the most votes.

When will the 2022 French presidential election be held?

This page lists public opinion polls conducted for the 2022 French presidential election, scheduled to be held on 10 April 2022. Should no candidate win a majority of the vote in the first round, a runoff will be held between the top two candidates on 24 April 2022.