How many registered political parties are there?

How many registered political parties are there?

As per latest publication dated 23 September 2021 from Election Commission of India, the total number of parties registered was 2858, with 8 national parties, 54 state parties and 2797 unrecognised parties.

Which party has the highest number of registered groups in Maharashtra?

Since its inception in 1960, and also of predecessor states such as Bombay, the politics of Maharashtra has been dominated by the Indian National Congress party.

How political parties are registered?

Only an association or body of individual citizens of India calling itself a political party and intending to avail itself of the provisions of Part-IV-A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, (relating to registration of political parties) is required to get itself registered with the Election Commission of …

How many parties are registered with the Election Commission in India Class 10?

More than 750 parties are registered with the Election Commission of India.

What are the 7 national parties in India with symbols?

Political Parties and Symbols

National Party
S.No Name of Party Symbol
5 Communist Party of India(Marxist) Hammer, Sickle and Star
6 Indian National Congress Hand
7 National Congress Party Clock

What are called Recognised political parties?

Parties recognised as such are given unique symbols which only the official candidates of that party can use. The parties that get these privileges and some other special facilities are recognised by the Election Commission of India for this purpose. That is why these parties are called as recognised parties.

How many parties are in Maharashtra?

Main political parties

Political Party Political Position Seats in Legislative Assembly
Bharatiya Janata Party Right-wing 106 / 288
Shiv Sena Right-wing to far-right 57 / 288
Nationalist Congress Party Centre 53 / 288
Indian National Congress Centre to centre-left 44 / 288

Which are the regional parties in Maharashtra?


  • Rashtriya Aam Party.
  • Rashtriya Samaj Paksha.
  • Republican Party of India (Athawale)
  • Republican Party of India (Democratic)
  • Republican Party of India (Gavai)
  • Republican Party of India (Kamble)
  • Republican Party of India (Khobragade)
  • Republican Sena.

How political parties are registered in India?

A party seeking registration under the said section with the Commission has to submit an application to the Commission within a period of 30 days following the date of its formation as per guidelines prescribed by the Commission in exercise of the powers conferred by Article 324 of the Constitution of India and Section …

What is the Article 324?

Article 324 of the Constitution provides that the power of superintendence, direction and control of elections to parliament, state legislatures, the office of president of India and the office of vice-president of India shall be vested in the Election Commission.

How many political parties are there in class 10?

Tabulate four national parties and four regional parties of India. National Parties: Indian National Congress; BJP (Bharatiya Janta Party); CPI (Communist Party of India); CPI (M) (Communist Party of India —Marxist).

How many political parties should class 10 have?

Any democratic system must allow at least two parties to compete in elections and provide a fair change for the competing parties to come to power.

What are the political parties in Maharastra?

1 Indian National Congress. : – The Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (M.P.C.C) 2 Bharatiya Janata Party. : – BJP is one of the two major political parties in India along with INC. 3 Communist Party of India. : – Maharashtra is a state that has a long legacy 4 All India Trinamool Congress: –. All India Trinamool Congress

How is the politics of Maratha community in Maharashtra?

The politics of the state are dominated by the numerically strong Maratha – Kunbi community. There are national and regional parties in the state, serving different demographics, such as those based on religion, caste, urban and rural residents.

How are members of Rajya Sabha elected in Maharashtra?

Representatives to the upper chamber, the Rajya Sabha, are elected indirectly by the Vidhan Sabha members. Maharashtra elects 48 members out of 543 total elected members of the Lok Sabha and 19 out of 233 elected members of the Rajya Sabha.

What type of government does Maharashtra have?

State Government. The government of Maharashtra is conducted within a framework of parliamentary government, with a bicameral legislature consisting of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly and the Maharashtra Legislative Council.