What 2 stages happen in photosynthesis?

What 2 stages happen in photosynthesis?

While there are many steps behind the process of photosynthesis, it can be broken down into two major stages: light-dependent reactions and light-independent reactions.

What are the stages of photosynthesis in order?

The overall process of photosynthesis can be objectively divided into four steps/ process:

  • Absorption of light. The first step in photosynthesis is the absorption of light by chlorophylls that are attached to the proteins in the thylakoids of chloroplasts.
  • Electron Transfer.
  • Generation of ATP.
  • Carbon Fixation.

What are the three stages of photosynthesis?

The stages of photosynthesis

Stage Location Events
Light-dependent reactions Thylakoid membrane Light energy is captured by chloroplasts and stored as ATP
Calvin cycle Stroma ATP is used to create sugars that the plant will use to grow and live

Where does Stage 2 of photosynthesis take place?

Photosynthesis takes place in two stages: light-dependent reactions and the Calvin cycle. Light-dependent reactions, which take place in the thylakoid membrane, use light energy to make ATP and NADPH. The Calvin cycle, which takes place in the stroma, uses energy derived from these compounds to make GA3P from CO2.

Where does Stage 2 of photosynthesis occur?

The inner compartments inside the thylakoids are called the thylakoid space (or lumen). This is the site of the first part of photosynthesis. The interior space that surrounds the thylakoids is filled with a fluid called stroma. This is where carbon dioxide is used to produce glucose, the second part of photosynthesis.

What are the 3 steps of photosynthesis?

1 Answer

  • Absorption of light energy by chlorophyll.
  • Conversion of light energy to chemical energy and splitting of water molecule into hydrogen and oxygen.
  • Reduction of carbon dioxide to carbohydrates. Please log in or register to add a comment. ← Prev Question Next Question →

What are photosystem 1 and 2?

Photosystem I and photosystem II are the two multi-protein complexes that contain the pigments necessary to harvest photons and use light energy to catalyse the primary photosynthetic endergonic reactions producing high energy compounds.

What is the 4th step of photosynthesis?

second step in the Calvin cycle of photosynthesis, where energy reacts with chemicals to create the simple sugar G3P. fourth and final step in the Calvin cycle of photosynthesis, where energy and sugar interact to form the molecule RuBP, allowing the cycle to start again.

What is ps1 and PS2 in photosynthesis?

PS I and PS II are the two photosystems which drive the light reaction of photosynthesis. The first stage of the light reaction occurs in PS II whereas the final stage of the light reaction occurs in PS I. Each of the two photosystems are made up of a collection of proteins and pigments.

What is PS2 in photosynthesis?

Photosystem 2 (PS2) is the part of the photosynthetic apparatus that uses light energy to split water releasing oxygen, protons and electrons.

What are the 5 stages of photosynthesis?