What is a Salter-Harris fracture 2?

What is a Salter-Harris fracture 2?

A type II Salter-Harris fracture is the most common pediatric physeal fracture, occurring frequently in children over 10 years of age. This fracture breaks at an angle, cutting through most of the growth plate and the metaphysis, the area above the growth plate.

What is a Salter-Harris fracture of tibia?

A Salter-Harris fracture is an injury to the growth plate area of a child’s bone. The growth plate is a soft area of cartilage at the ends of long bones. These are bones that are longer than they are wide. Salter-Harris fractures can occur in any long bone, from fingers and toes, to arm and leg bones.

What is a Type 2 fracture?

A type II odontoid fracture is a break that occurs through a specific part of C2, the second bone in the neck. Bones of the spine are called vertebrae. The bone involved in odontoid fracture is the second vertebra, C2, high up in the neck.

What is the ICD-10 code for right tibia fracture?

Other fracture of shaft of right tibia, initial encounter for closed fracture. S82. 291A is a billable/specific ICD-10-CM code that can be used to indicate a diagnosis for reimbursement purposes.

What is Salter-Harris fracture classification?

The Salter-Harris classification system is a method used to grade fractures that occur in children and involve the growth plate, which is also known as the physis or physial plate. The classification system grades fractures according to the involvement of the physis, metaphysis, and epiphysis.

What does Salter-Harris stand for?

A Salter–Harris fracture is a fracture that involves the epiphyseal plate or growth plate of a bone, specifically the zone of provisional calcification. It is thus a form of child bone fracture.

What is a distal tibia and fibula fracture?

Ankle fractures are breaks of the distal tibia or fibula (near or in the so-called malleolus) affecting the tibiotalar (ankle) joint. Occasionally, they involve the shaft of the fibula as well. Ankle fractures range from simple injuries of a single bone to complex ones involving multiple bones and ligaments.

What are the 4 types of fractures?

Although there are many types of bone fractures, there are four main categories a fracture usually falls under: displaced, non-displaced, open and closed.

What is a tibial fracture?

A tibial shaft fracture occurs along the length of the bone, below the knee and above the ankle. It typically takes a major force to cause this type of broken leg. Motor vehicle collisions, for example, are a common cause of tibial shaft fractures.

How many Salter-Harris classifications are there?

There are nine types of Salter–Harris fractures; types I to V as described by Robert B Salter and W Robert Harris in 1963, and the rarer types VI to IX which have been added subsequently: Type I – transverse fracture through the growth plate (also referred to as the “physis”): 6% incidence.